Upperbound.com
Nobody reads this blog. Or yours.
Polls
 Topics  
My News (23/0)
Thoughts (17/1)
Food (10/0)
Science/Tech (7/0)
Religion (4/0)
Business (10/0)

 New Recipes  
  • Spinach Artichoke Dip
  • Lemon Blueberry Glaze Bread
  • Buffalo Chicken Dip
  • Ground Beef and Tomato Custard Pie
  • Honey and Grapefruit Cake
  • Chicken Noodle Soup
  • Garlic Prime Rib Roast
  • Easy Pancakes
  • Tuna Noodle Casserole
  • Lakeshore Pumpkin Soup

  •  User Functions  
    Username:

    Password:

    Don't have an account yet? Sign up as a New User


     Anatomy of a phishing attempt    
     Author:  boz
     Dated:  Thursday, March 17 2005 @ 06:14 PM EST
     Viewed:  1,346 times  
    My NewsToday I got an obviously fraudulent email claiming I need to "update my account information" at PayPal. The site it links to has entry fields for all sorts of personal information, plus credit card account information. I don't have a PayPal account. This isn't the first I've gotten something like this, but here are the details for this one.

    Screenshot of the email as it appears in my Hotmail account

    The header.

    X-Message-Status: sF
    X-SID-PRA: service@paypal.com 
    X-SID-Result: SoftFail
    X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jHcoG/t78wIKx930QsXgE4UFFf2cdDtg3Q=
    Received: from EV1SERVE-GDKQQ6 ([69.57.136.63]) by mc3-f21.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.211);
    	 Tue, 15 Mar 2005 16:23:19 -0800
    From: "service@paypal.com" 
    Subject: Account Verification.
    To: USERNAME@hotmail.com
    Content-Type: text/html;iso-8859-1
    Reply-To: service@paypal.com
    Date: Tue, 15 Mar 2005 18:23:20 -0600
    X-Priority: 3
    X-Library: Indy 8.0.25
    Return-Path: service@paypal.com
    Message-ID: 
    X-OriginalArrivalTime: 16 Mar 2005 00:23:19.0864 (UTC) FILETIME=[5B164B80:01C529BE]
    
    Clicking on the link to "update" your information takes to you to http://add.update.config.cmdcmd.503subscription.info:80/ and then fowards you to an ugly looking URL that can be simplified to this: http://216.51.232.128/best-greetings-flirting.com/pp/update.htm?=

    If you actually go the URL, the browser doesn't get that secured lock icon. This idiot fraudster wasn't even nice enough to encrypt the information he's trying to steal. Meh.

    It looks like the form submission results get posted via this http://216.51.232.128/best-greetings-flirting.com/pp/form2mail.php

    form2mail.php is a form mailer implemented in PHP. Looking at the HTML source of the form on the page shows a hidden form field called "login_email" and the value is someone's AOL address. Hmmm... After some poking around, it looks like this is likely compromised Windows 2003 machine.

    What's interesting is that if you go to http://216.51.232.128/best-greetings-flirting.com/pp/ , you get forwarded to theark.ws, which doesn't respond.



     What's Related  

     Story Options  
  • Mail Story to a Friend
  • Printable Story Format


  • Anatomy of a phishing attempt | 0 comments | Create New Account
    The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.